



Minutes: 1st Emergency Meeting of the Students' Senate 19th April 2012

The first emergency meeting of the Students' Senate (2012 – 2013) was held on 19th April 2012. It was called to order at 22:16 hours.

The attendance record of the senators is:

- Total: 44
- Present: 31
- Absent: 13
- Absent with permission: 3

1. Announcements and remarks

• No Announcements or remarks.

2. Discussion on the proposed changes to the Hall Allocation Policy

- The President, Students' Gymkhana mentioned that he had received a lot of complaints and a huge amount of discontent had been shown by a lot of students on the Hall Allocation Policy passed in the 2nd meeting of the Students' Senate dated 8th April, 2012.
- Following this, he had come up with a new policy which was presented on the floor of the Senate.
- The following concerns were made on the new policy:
 - The UGs'and PGs'have different lifestyles and keeping them in the same hall may lead to unwanted friction between the two groups.
 - Shifting is a onetime issue; albeit hectic it can be done over within a matter of few days. But keeping the UGs and PGs together may lead to administrative issues which may persist throughout the year.
 - In a needed digression, some Senators were curious as to how a new policy could be tabled in the Senate without tabling it in the COSHA. The President Students' Gymkhana clarified this concern by stating that the COSHA is an advisory body and it is the Students' Senate which takes the final call on behalf of the Students.



Students' Senate Indian Institute of Technology Kanpur Ankit Bhutani | Convener



The policy is then passed onto to the HMC which gives the final verdict on the Hall Allocation.

- Senators Payalpal and Rekha were curious as to why the PhDs who were residing in type quarters were not given accommodation in GH despite their continuous complaints in regards to the type quarters. In this regard, the President clarified that the incoming batch of UG Y12 needed guidance by their seniors by virtue of their age. The PhDs being much more mature could adjust to the situation in type quarters for a few months more after which they could be shifted to the under construction SBRA and GH extension.
- The Hall 10 president raised various concerns with the previous Hall allocation policy. He said that the Hall 10 residents had built their Hall and had emotions attached to their Hall. Also, the movement to Hall 9 was unnecessary.
- Concerns were also raised as the culture of hall 9 would be lost according to the new Hall allocation policy as the existing Y10 batch would be split up in two halls. Also the part of the batch which would remain in Hall 9 would be the junior most in their respective batch which would be unfair to these students.
- The Hall 10 president Mr. Gurmeet expressing the general discontent of his Hall over the existing Hall allocation policy, proposed a new policy, the following comments were made on this policy:
 - Before any discussions were made, the COSHA Convener Mr. Himanshu Pandey and the President Students' Gymkhana stated that this policy had been tabled in the COSHA but as a many members of the COSHA had walked off during this meeting, no decision could be made in the aforementioned meeting about any Hall Allocation policy.
 - This policy would overload Hall 2 and Hall 3; keeping in mind that the two halls in discussion are one of the oldest halls in the campus, this will place a very high demand on the infrastructure of the hall which these halls may not be able to cope up with.
 - To counter with the above mentioned point Mr. Gurmeet said that he can change certain details in his policy which could reduce the load in Halls 2 and 3 by 30 or so students; but he refrained from telling the Senate on how he would do so until the Senate accepted his policy.
 - The general body members of Hall 9 expressed their discontent that no new students will be sent to Hall 9 according to this policy because Hall 9 cannot have





double rooms – the institute policy dictates that all first year students should be in double rooms.

- A suggestion was made by the Hall 10 General body members that Hall 9 could have double decker beds and then the rooms in Hall 9 could be doubled up. But as there was no data to prove whether such a thing was feasible or not, it was decided that the current policy decision could not be made taking into account such a thing.
- The merits of this new policy were that it allowed all the fifth year students to stay in one Hall, fulfilling their long made request.
- This policy also preserved the culture in both Hall 10 and Hall9 because there were no major substantial movements. But on the counter part, it completely put a stop to the transmission of the Hall 9 culture by not allotting any new students to them.
- After the above discussions, all the three policies were put to vote.
- The policy passed by the Senate in the 2nd meeting received the highest number of votes followed closely by the new policy tabled by the President, Students' Gymkhana. The policy tabled by the hall 10 President received the least votes.

3. Announcements and Remarks

• The Senate raised a concern over the avenues of accommodating 84 students who still did not have any accommodation according to the passed Hall allocation policy. The President, Students' Gymkhana assured the Senate that he would try his best to get some alternate accommodation for them.

4. Any other items with the permission of the chair

• There were no other items.

The meeting was adjourned at 00:11 hours.



Students' Senate Indian Institute of Technology Kanpur Ankit Bhutani | Convener



Attendance Record

Sl.No.	Senators	Name of the Post	Attendance
1	Abhay Jain	President, Students' Gymkhana	Present
2	Sonal Kumari	General Secretary, Cultural Council	Present
3	Subhojit Ghosh	General Secretary, Science and Technology Council	Present
4	Yuvraj Dhillon	General Secretary, Games and Sports Council	Present
5	Yashovardhan Bhagat	General Secretary, Films and Media Council	Present
6	Ankit Bhutani	Convener, Students' Senate	Present
7	Ashutosh Sharma	Senator, Y7 (5 Year)	Present
8	Md. Maaz	Senator UG Y8 (4 Year)	Absent
9	Devesh Kumar Gupta	Senator UG Y8 (4 Year)	Absent
10	Amritanshu Singh	Senator UG Y8 (4 Year)	Absent
11	Sumit Bhagwani	Senator, UG Y8 (5 Year)	Absent
12	Akella Ravi Nagarjun	Senator, UG Y8 (5 Year)	Absent
13	Kanish Manuja	Senator UG Y9	Present
14	Jyoti Gupta	Senator UG Y9	Absent*
15	Pratik Moona	Senator UG Y9	Present
16	Aman Haji	Senator UG Y9	Present
17	Digraj Singh Chahal	Senator UG Y9	Present
18	Anurag Dash	Senator UG Y9	Present
19	Himanshu Pandey	Senator UG Y10	Present
20	Abhiroop Bhatnagar	Senator UG Y10	Present
21	Rahul Arora	Senator UG Y10	Absent
22	Saurabh Mishra	Senator UG Y10	Present
23	Amritanshu Mishra	Senator UG Y10	Present
24	Saurabh Dixit	Senator UG Y10	Absent

Students' Senate| IIT Kanpur



Students' Senate Indian Institute of Technology Kanpur Ankit Bhutani | Convener



25	Sanchit Khattar	Senator UG Y10	Present
26	Shivam Trivedi	Senator UG Y10	Present
27	Ankur Atul Agarwal	Senator UG Y11	Present
28	Amrit Rijhwani	Senator UG Y11	Present
29	Samarth Bansal	Senator UG Y11	Present
30	Srijan R Shetty	Senator UG Y11	Present
31	Shouvik Sachdeva	Senator UG Y11	Absent
32	Ashish Dabas	Senator UG Y11	Present
33	Pranjal Gupta	Senator UG Y11	Absent
34	Diksha Gupta	Senator UG Y11	Present
35	Arjun Ravichandran	Senator, M.Tech Y11	Present
36	Adwait Parulekar	Senator, M.Tech Y11	Absent*
37	Abhimanyu M A	Senator, M.Tech Y11	Present
38	Srinivas Chitturi	Senator, M.Tech Y11	Absent
39	Nishant Maheshwari	Senator, MBA + M.Des. + other equivalent Masters Programmes Y11	Present
40	Karthik Balasundaram	Senator, Ph.D.	Present
41	Vikas Nandal	Senator, Ph.D.	Absent
42	Kumar Gaurav	Senator, Ph.D.	Present
43	Payel Pal	Senator, Ph.D.	Present
44	Rekha Raja	Senator, Ph.D.	Present

Absent* - Absent with permission